Account sharing and developer access

Here's how to easily and securely give a developer access to your account and web hosting at Simply.com via user roles, FTP login or WordPress users.

As the owner of a webhosting plan, you may need to give others access to your account and webhosting plan. This could be a developer or a person who needs to help administer a domain and webhosting plan. At Simply.com, this is easy and secure to do through our user system. This article walks you through how to do it and what you need to be aware of in order to protect yourself against problems.

User access

At Simply.com, you have your account, which can contain one or more domains and webhosting plans. To access your account, you use your login, also called a Simply.com user.
Multiple users can have access to an account, so that the domains can be administered in collaboration. User access for an account is managed in the control panel by selecting Account in the menu on the left and then Account administration.

Under the heading “Users”, you can see which people have access to the account in question. In addition, there is a button “Add user access”, where you can send user invitations to new users, or give existing users access to the account. Each user also has a red cross, which you can use to remove that user's access to the account.

Best practices

  • Never give access to a person you do not trust.
  • NEVER share your Simply.com user login with others.
  • All users have the same rights regarding administration of the account and the products on it.
  • Remember to remove user access again if a person is only meant to have access temporarily.
  • All users have access to product passwords (FTP, MySQL, etc.). Always change the password if you remove a user's access.
  • All users have access to all products on the account. If a person only needs access to a single domain, we recommend transferring that domain to its own account, to which the person can then be given access. You can read how a product is transferred in our FAQ
  • To secure your own login as best as possible, we strongly recommend enabling 2-factor login on your user. We support 2-factor login via authenticator apps such as Authy, Google Authenticator, Microsoft Authenticator, etc. 2-factor login is enabled in the control panel by clicking on your username in the top right and selecting “User profile”. On the following page, there is a button to enable 2-factor under the heading “Security”.

User roles

When you add new users to your account, you have the option to choose how much access the user should have to make changes to the account and the domains.

We offer 3 user access levels:

Administrator

Full access to the account and products. An administrator can change both account information and the setup of domains, website, DNS, etc.

As an administrator, you can also invite new users and choose which type of access they should have.

Developer

As a developer, you can not change information on an account or add new users. However, the developer can still see information on the account.

A developer has full access to the products on the account in question and can make full use of the features in the control panel, such as changing DNS, 1‑Click installation, editing files through File Manager, etc.

A developer cannot retrieve the auth-id on domains.

Member

Members only have access to read information on the account and the products; they cannot make any changes.

Other access

In some cases, a person will most likely not need full access to your account at Simply.com. This could be, for example, a developer who only needs FTP access, or who needs a login to WordPress (or a similar CMS).

FTP login

FTP gives access to upload, delete and edit files on your website. Some web developers will be able to make do with logging in via FTP to make the necessary changes.
If that is the case, they only need a username and FTP password. Each webhosting plan has one login for FTP. You can find the login details in the control panel under Administration -> Login details once you have selected your webhosting plan.
If you have shared FTP details with a developer, and they have finished using them, we recommend that you change the password. This is done under Administration -> Change password.
Note that FTP access also gives access to view any passwords that may be stored in the files on the webhosting plan, as well as to edit the files and place files on the webhosting plan.

WordPress access

WordPress sites have their own separate user system. If you need to make changes to a WordPress site, it will usually be enough to create a user in WordPress, who can then get access to create new posts and pages or change the site's design.
To grant access to a WordPress site, you need to log in to the WordPress administration. Under Users in the menu, you can select Add new. Here you fill in username, email, password, etc. to create the new login, which can then be given to the person.
We recommend updating the password to your own the first time you log in.

WordPress has a number of different roles which give access to different things on the site. The “Admin” role has full access, while “Author”, for example, can only add and manage posts. You can read about the various roles at WordPress

Article from the support category: General