Account sharing and developer access
Learn how to securely share account access, set user roles and manage FTP or WordPress logins at Simply.com.
As the owner of a webhosting plan you may need to give others access to your account and webhosting. It could be a developer or a person who needs to help manage domains and webhosting. At Simply.com it is easy and secure to do this through our user system. This article explains how you can do it and what you need to be aware of to protect yourself from problems.
User Access
At Simply.com you have your account which can contain one or more domains and webhosting plans. To access your account you use your login, also called a Simply.com user.
Multiple users can have access to an account so you can collaborate to manage the domains. User access for an account is managed in the control panel by selecting Account in the menu on the left and then Account Administration.
Under the heading “Users” you can see which people have access to the relevant account. There is also an “Add user access” button where you can send user invitations to new users, or give existing users access to the account. Each user also has a red cross which can be used to remove that user’s access to the account.
Best practices
- Never give access to a person you do not trust.
- NEVER share your Simply.com user login with others.
- All users have the same rights regarding administration of the account and the products on it.
- Remember to remove user access again if a person only needs temporary access.
- All users have access to product passwords (FTP, MySQL etc.). Always change the password if you remove a user’s access.
- All users have access to all products on the account. If a person only needs access to a single domain we recommend transferring that domain to their own account which they can be given access to. You can read how a product is transferred in our FAQ
- To secure your own login as much as possible we strongly recommend enabling two‑factor login on your user. We support two‑factor login via authenticator apps such as Authy, Google Authenticator, Microsoft Authenticator etc. Two‑factor login is enabled in the control panel by clicking your username at the top right and selecting “User Profile”. On the subsequent page there is a button to enable two‑factor under the “Security” heading.
User Roles
When adding new users to your account you can choose how much access the user should have to modify the account and the domains.
We offer three user access levels:
Administrator
Full access to the account and products. An administrator can change both account details and the configuration of domains, website, DNS etc.
As an administrator you can also invite new users and choose what type of access they should have.
Developer
As a developer you cannot change information on an account or add new users. The developer can, however, still view information on the account.
A developer has full access to the products on the relevant account and can make full use of the features in the control panel, such as changing DNS, 1‑Click‑installations, modifying files via the File Manager etc.
Member
Members have read‑only access to information on the account and products; they cannot make changes.
Other Access
In some cases a person may not need full access to your Simply.com account. For example it might be a developer who only needs FTP access, or a login to WordPress (or a similar CMS).
FTP login
FTP provides access to upload, delete and edit files on your website. Some web developers may be satisfied with logging in via FTP to make the necessary changes.
If that is the case, they only need a username and FTP password. Each webhosting plan has a single FTP login. You can find the login details in the control panel under Administration → Login Details when you have selected your webhosting plan.
If you have shared FTP details with a developer and they are finished using it, we recommend that you change the password. This is done under Administration → Change Password.
Note that FTP access also allows viewing any passwords that may be stored in files on the webhosting, as well as modifying files and placing files on the webhosting.
WordPress Access
WordPress sites have their own separate user system. If you need to modify a WordPress site it is usually sufficient to create a user in WordPress, which then gives access to create new posts and pages or change the site’s design.
To grant access to a WordPress site you need to log into the WordPress admin. Under Users in the menu you can select Add New. Here you fill in username, e‑mail, password etc. to create the new login which can then be given to the person.
We recommend that you update the password for your own account the first time you log in.
WordPress has a range of different roles which grant access to different things on the site. The “Admin” role has full access while “Author” for example can only add and manage posts. You can read about the various roles on WordPress
Article from the support category: General